National Forest Boundaries

This dataset contains National Forest boundaries for the lower 48 states and Alaska, including Puerto Rico. The dataset includes administrative unit boundaries dervied from the Automated Lands Project (ALP) data system and is comprised of data extracted from Regional ALP coverages, Regional GIS coverages, Cartographic Feature Files (CFF) and other sources such as USGS and BLM 1:100,000 scale maps. CFF data are digital representations, in vector format, of cartographic information. Map features are converted to digital form from maps, aerial photography, global positioning systems and related sources. CFF data are used to publish 1:24,000 – scale topographic maps in the lower 48 states and 1:63,360 – scale topographic maps in Alaska.